It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database from SAI Global provides full-text access to all Australian Standards, plus abstracts and contents information for other international standards such as ISO and IEC.
Standards Online is a complete repository of Australian, ISO, IEC, EN, ETSI, NSAI, and JSA records. Charles Sturt's subscription provides the full-text of only Australian Standards. For other Standards, you are presented with an online purchase option.
You can search the collection by title, number, keyword, scope, or publication dates. You can limit your search to Australian Standards only, or search all the Standards databases.
You can view online, print, or save as a PDF.
You will need to have a PDF reader on your device in order to download and read Standards offline.
PDFs will not open in a browser, so you may need to change settings for your browser in order to open the PDFs. For instructions on downloading and accessing PDFs in Google Chrome, Firefox, and Microsoft Edge, see Accessing PDFs in Standards Online.
Please note that downloaded PDF copies of the Standards will expire after 3 days, so you should get what you need within that time, or obtain the document again.
The Office oversees and contributes to Victoria’s emergency management arrangements and develops a whole-of-government emergency management policy. It also develops emergency management standards and best practices.
The Australian Disaster Resilience Handbook Collection has been developed to assist and guide the management and delivery of support services in a disaster context. It comprises principles, strategies and actions compiled by practitioners with management and service-delivery experience in a range of disaster events. The Handbook Collection links service delivery with the National Strategy for Disaster Resilience.
Handbook 1 : Disaster Health
Handbook 2: Community Recovery
Handbook 3: Managing Exercises
Handbook 4: Evacuation Planning
Handbook 5: Communicating with people with a disability - National Guidelines for Emergency Managers
Handbook 6: National Strategy for Disaster Resilience - Community Engagement framework
Handbook 7: Managing the floorplain: a guide to best practices in flood risk management in Australia
Handbook 8: Lessons Management
Handbook 9: Australian Emergency Management Arrangements
Handbook 10: National Emergency Risk Assessment Guidelines
Handbook 11: National Emergency Risk Assessment Guidelines: practical guide
Handbook 12: Spontaneous Volunteers (in development)
Abstract: With the proliferation of smart devices, disaster responders and community residents are capturing footage, pictures and video of the disaster area with mobile phones and wireless tablets. This multimedia disaster situation information is critical for assisting emergency management (EM) personnel to effectively respond in a timely manner.
The Monitoring and Assurance Framework for Emergency Management (the Framework) is the overarching assurance framework for Victoria's emergency management sector. Through adoption of the Framework, our emergency management sector will have a consistent and coordinated approach in assessing its capacity, capability and performance through activities such as reviews, evaluations, monitoring and reporting. The Framework provides a starting point in ensuring that lessons from emergencies are identified and turned into sustainable improvements that will make a lasting difference for Victorian communities.
This is a curated collection of more than 1,200 high-quality photographs related to natural, technological and human-caused events including bushfires, cyclones, tsunamis, earthquakes, shipwrecks, urban fires, chemical and industrial events.
Events pictured have posed a serious threat to a community or property and include recent and historical events from all Australian states and territories and some international locations. The images are organised in a database to browse or to search via category, region and date. Most of the images can be downloaded and used freely by students and teachers. The quality and variety of images makes this archive a very useful collection of primary source materials for issues based studies. Where available, users can hyperlink to the original source of the images for more background information.
The Forward Projection of Reviews provides the emergency management sector with a high-level, thematic overview of the potential areas the Inspector-General for Emergency Management (IGEM) may review and includes broad information on subject matter. IGEM proposes to review selected Emergency risk management and planning practices to ensure the Victorian Emergency management sector is embracing the management of risk in a consistent and coordinated manner. This includes the subsequent development, exercise and review of plans to ensure the sector is appropriately prepared for all credible risk scenarios.
PreventionWeb is a collaborative knowledge sharing platform on disaster risk reduction (DRR), managed by the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR). The site offers a range of knowledge products and services to facilitate the work of DRR professionals.