Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Screen reading resources for study: 3. eBook collections

A guide for users who require assistance for screen reading.

ACLS humanities ebooks

ACLS Humanities eBooks

These cover a range of subject areas including: studies, history, archaeology, art and architectural history, performance, film and media studies, folklore, religion, musicology, political science, literary criticism, sociology, and bibliographical studies.

Tips for accessing ACLS Humanities ebooks

  1. Choose search from the menu bar.
  2. Enter your keywords or a phrase in the basic search box to start your search. The search results are listed in order of relevance rather than date.
  3. Select the title of the eBook to view table of contents, reviews and catalogue record. ACLS humanities eBooks are available in image, text and PDF format. Where possible use the text format.
  4. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud to read aloud your text format files. Install TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers, highlight the text or place the cursor as needed in your text format file and then select 'Speak highlighted text or speak from cursor' from the TextAloud toolbar.

To start your search, select ACLS Humanities eBook collection.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks

Covers a range of subject areas including: Children's and young adult fiction, business and economics, health and medicine, law, social sciences, psychology, religion, engineering and technology.

Tips for accessing EBSCO eBooks

  1. You will land in the advanced search fields.
  2. Enter your keywords or a phrase in the search box to start your search. The search results are listed in order of relevance rather than date.
  3. Select the title of the eBook to view table of contents and description of the book. EBSCO eBooks are available in EPUB and PDF format. Select your preferred format.
  4. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud to read aloud your text files. Or Adobe Reader for your PDF files. Install TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers, highlight the text or place the cursor as needed in your text format file and then select 'Speak highlighted text or speak from cursor' from the TextAloud toolbar.

To start your search, select EBSCO eBook collection.

CAB ebooks

CAB eBooks

These books cover a range of subject areas including agriculture; animal & veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food & nutrition; leisure & tourism; and plant sciences.

Tips for accessing CAB eBooks

  1. Enter your keywords or a phrase in the search CAB ebooks box to start your search. The search results are listed in order of relevance rather than date. You can also refine your search results by choosing options such as subject topic, author and geographical location.
  2. Select the title of the book for options to view and download chapters. Select View chapter to download a PDF of the chapter or select the title of the chapter to read the webpage online. CAB eBooks are available in PDF format only.
  3. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud or Adobe Reader to read aloud your PDF files. TextAloud can also be used to read webpages, install the TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers.
  4. Highlight the text or place the cursor as need in your PDF format file and then select 'Speak highlighted text or speak from cursor' from the TextAloud toolbar.

To start your search, select CAB ebooks collection.

Springer ebooks

Springer eBooks

Covers a range of subject areas including biomedical & life sciences; computer science; earth & environmental science; humanities, social sciences & law; and medicine.

Tips for accessing Springer eBooks

  1. Add your keywords or a phrase in the new search box to start your search. The search results are listed in order of relevance rather than date. You can also refine your search results by choosing options such as by discipline.

    2. Select the title to view the table of contents, book details and to download a PDF file of a chapter or select View chapter to read webpages online. Springer eBooks are available in PDF format only.

  2. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud or Adobe Reader to read aloud your PDF files. TextAloud can also be used to read webpages, install the TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers.
  3. Highlight the text or place the cursor as need in your PDF format file and then select 'Speak highlighted text or speak from cursor' from the TextAloud toolbar.

To start your search, select Springer ebooks collection.

Help guides for ebooks

Help from a Librarian

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.