Library Guides: Business Studies: Newspaper and Media Databases

Locating Newspaper Articles

Whilst you will be able to find some news articles in Primo Search, the best place to find news articles is in the Library's News & Current Affairs Databases. Watch the short recording below which demonstrates two of our library databases: ANZ Newsstream and Factiva.

Australian Financial Review

Looking for newspaper articles from Australian Financial Review (AFR)? You can find AFR articles in Primo Search, Proquest Business Databases and Factiva.

To search AFR within Factiva:

Enter the desired search terms into the Search box
Select Source
Search for then choose, The Australian Financial Review

For more help with Factiva see the following guide https://proquest.libguides.com/factiva

Australian Newspapers

The best source for Australian news articles is the ANZ Newsstream database.

This journal database allows you search multiple Australian newspapers at the same time.

To get the best search results:

Before you start searching, change the 'Location' limiter at the bottom of the screen to your chosen local area. This will limit your search results to your chosen region only;
On the search results screen, use the 'Publication Date' limiter on the left-hand side of the screen to limit your results to the last three months.

Media Databases

ANZ Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand
This database includes titles from Fairfax (including The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald) and News Ltd (including The Australian, The Adelaide Advertiser, and The Herald Sun), plus leading regional and local newspaper titles from Australia and New Zealand, and transcripts and wire feeds from ABC programs.

Coverage varies, but most newspaper content is available from the mid- to late-nineties.

Other databases with online full-text newspaper content are Trove, Factiva, and Newspaper Source Plus.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.
Factiva is produced by Dow Jones, a leading global provider of economic and financial information.

The database has full-text content from newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites.

It includes material from :
* Australian newspapers, including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, and Business Review Weekly
* US newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal
* Magazines, journals and trade publications, including Forbes and Newsweek
* Newswires, including AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones
* company reports
* other content including TV and radio podcasts; and major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards.

Coverage varies but goes back as far as 1980.

There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder (Charles Sturt's subscription defaults to Search Builder), Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.

NOTE: Charles Sturt Library has only 3 concurrent-user licences to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.
TVNews This link opens in a new window
An Informit database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with TVNews selected.
This database provides video from television news and current affairs programs, and selected documentaries, from the Australian free-to-air networks. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed and have detailed summaries. TVNews is updated daily, with stories from an evening news broadcast generally being available the next morning.

The video for each story or documentary is available in WMV format as a progressive download, allowing viewing to begin before the total video file is transferred. Items range in duration from less than 30 seconds for short news stories, to more than 60 minutes for selected documentaries. Transcripts are NOT included.

Your searching from this link will be within the TVNews database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in TVNews. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

Coverage is from August 2007- present.
Informit EduTV This link opens in a new window
An Australian Informit database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with EduTV selected.
Lecturers and students can find and instantly watch Australian television content.

Features of this database include:
* Instant streaming access to more than 10,000 programs via computer, tablet, or smartphone;
* Archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly;
* Content which includes documentaries, drama, series, and more from both free-to-air and pay-TV;
* Study guides and articles to complement the programs.

Your searching from this link will be within the EduTV database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in EduTV. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.