Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Studies: Analysis methods

PESTLE Analysis

A PESTLE analysis is a tool used to gain a macro picture of an industry environment. A SWOT analysis concentrates on a company's internal processes and PESTLE provides information on external factors. 

PESTLE stands for Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal and Environmental factors. It allows you to gain information on the factors that might impact a new business or industry. Some factors will be more important to different types of businesses, and a PESTLE analysis will help identity risk factors for the SWOT analysis.

There are a range of places you can search to find this information

PESTLE Factors Where to look
Databases Websites
Political

Business Source Complete

Factiva

Parliamentary websites

Economic

Business Source Complete

ABI/Inform

IBIS World

WARC

D&B Hoovers

ACCC

ASIC

ASX

Social (cultural) Factiva ABS
Technological

Business Source Complete

Factiva

D&B Hoovers

 
Legal AGIS Plus Text

ACCC

AustLII

Environmental

IBIS World

Web of Science

 

 

Research Strategy for Five Forces Analysis

This table directs you to our different library databases where you can analyse the five forces.

Five Forces

Where do I research? (Which database and within that database - which menus do I use?)

Buyers

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Major Markets, Demand Determinants
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition

2.Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream OR Factiva - use keywords to search news articles and trade publications

3.Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) - economic and financial statistics

Suppliers

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Supply Chain
  • Major Companies: Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Cost Structure Benchmarks

2.Use company's public investor relations webpage to identify suppliers

Competitive rivalry

1.D&B Hoovers Company Information:

  • Advanced: Competitors, Closest Industry Peers, Closest Companies
  • Industry Information: Challenges, Trends & Opportunities

2.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition, Barriers to Entry, Market Share Concentration
  • Operating Conditions: Capital Intensity
  • Industry Life Cycle
  • Industry Outlook

3.Business Source Complete and/or ABI/INFORM Collection - locate company profiles (includes information on competitors)

Potential new entrants

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Barriers to entry & Cost Structure Benchmarks
  • Operating Conditions: Regulation & Policy, Industry Assistance, Technology & Systems
Firms with Substitute Products

1.Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream - use keywords  to search news articles and trade publications

2.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition
  • About this industry: Similar Industries, Related International Industries

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.