Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BMS162 Research Skills Guide: Databases

Introduction

Searching in databases is similar to searching in Primo Search but, for finding targeted journal article results, is usually better. 

Go to the Allied Health databases list, and choose from the Recommended box. For this subject, I would recommend:

You could also go to the Science databases list and try:

Tips on Searching in Databases

Suggest Subject Terms

To start with, use CINAHL to check for the correct subject heading that CINAHL uses:

  1. Go to CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  2. Tick the box for Suggest Subject Terms, above the search box.
  3. Enter your term and click on Search.
  4. Follow the prompts to explore and use the subject headings:

 

 

 

 

 

EBSCOhost (Health)

For more results but using the same interface, search in EBSCOhost (Health). As in Primo Advanced Search, you can search in title and/or subject:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Refining your search

Use the refiners at the left of your results to narrow your results by various criteria:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proximity searching

You can search for where your terms appear only within a certain number of words of each other. In EBSCOhost, the proximity operator is N. You can nominate the number. Eg. (cortisol N4 regulat*) OR (hydrocortisone N4 regulat*). In the screenshot below, we don't need round brackets because we have used separate lines of search. Note that the OR operator is used to combine the lines of search, and that we haven't specified the field to be searched in:

 

Find full text

If the item you find doesn't have a full-text link (PDF, HTML, or Linked Full Text), use the Find it                icon to search for the item via Primo Search.

 

Add items to a folder

To mark results that look interesting, use the Add to Folder icon - Add to folder - at the right of each result in your results list.

 

BMS162 Library Video Three - Databases and Referencing

Watch this recording for a live demo of using databases, and referencing, in BMS162. There are chapters to help you find the bits you need (click on the ^ symbol at the bottom of the frame to see the table of contents and skip to the section you want to view), and you can speed it up if you like.


Searching in a database

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching Tutorial

Further Resources

ClinicalKey Student: Medicine

ClinicalKey Student: Medicine is a collection of online medical and medical science textbooks, including several general textbooks on physiology and pathophysiology. There are videos, images, and medical summaries as well.

You can browse the books or search across the whole collection. Results should be in the form of book, book-chapter, and chapter-section results.

You can't print from the books but the online reader is quite easy to navigate and use.

To access the content you need to follow a login process: we recommend that you set up and use an Elsevier account. You need to do this from the Elsevier login page, which you will arrive at when you follow the prompts to this collection. To set up an account, use the New user? Register here link. See screen-shot below.

screen sample of login screen

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.