An Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect
, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.
To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books
at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.
You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.
You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications
and/or Open Access articles
. You can also filter by article type
or to book chapters
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button
to search for the full item via Primo Search
Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Elsevier also produces the Scopus
database, a huge abstract and citation database, and the eBook collections ClinicalKey Student: Nursing
and ClinicalKey Student: Medicine