A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.
Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.
The database is updated daily.
Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.
Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Informit Online is a platform of mainly Australian databases covering a wide range of subjects, including Business, Science, Health, Social sciences, Computing, Education, and Religion. It has recently undergone a major change to its interface.
Searching here is across the 12 full-text databases to which Charles Sturt subscribes (12 of the 14 Informit full-text databases). You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. You can then choose from a list of full-text databases or from a list of indexes. Many of the indexes do not contain current material (archives only). In the list of full-text databases, you can choose the option of Select databases I have access to (Charles Sturt subscribes to 12 of the 14).
You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
The Charles Sturt list of databases include many links to individual subject-specific Informit databases.
ProQuest is a provider of a huge range of databases covering all subject areas, and including a range of sources. Most of these databases include full-text material, but some, particularly in the environmental sciences area, are databases of abstracts only.
Subject strengths include biological science, earth & environmental sciences, general science, business, education, health & medicine, and social sciences.
Sources include mainly journals, but there are two specialised database of interest:
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - an important database of dissertations and theses from America and Europe;
* ANZ Newsstand - a database of Australian and New Zealand newspaper articles.
The link here takes you to searching across ALL the ProQuest databases. Once in the ProQuest platform, you can pick and choose from the menu of databases by clicking on the Change Databases tab in the top menu.
An Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.
To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.
You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.
You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. You can also filter by article type or to book chapters.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.
Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.
From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt University are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.
One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online to users is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.
While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find link to search for the full item in other Library-subscribed resources.
Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.
This is a comprehensive international directory of serials (journals) with all sorts of information about each one. It is important because you can use it to check if a journal is "refereed" (peer-reviewed).
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials (periodicals) published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are free or subscribed. The database includes hundreds of thousands of serials from more than 90,000 publishers.
You can search using Simple or Advanced Search. To search for a serial title as a phrase, enclose the words in double quotation marks. You results lists will show brief records in a table with columns for Title, Publisher, ISSN, Country, Status, Serial Type, and Format, and other columns marked by icons.
You can change the columns that are displayed in the table, by clicking on Change Columns in the top right corner of the table.
In your results list, click on the title of a serial to see the full record. This includes a wealth of information about the publication, in sections including Basic Description, Subject Classifications, Additional Title Details, Online Availability, Abstracting & Indexing Sources, and Full Text Sources.
You can use Ulrichsweb to check that a journal is peer-reviewed. When you search for a journal, your results list will include a column (third from left) marked by the icon of a basketball referees shirt. This column indicates the peer-reviewed status of the journal.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Theology and Religion Online includes a range of resources designed for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related fields. Theology and Religion Online is home to T&T Clark Theology Library, T&T Clark Jesus Library, Library of Catholic Thought, Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary and Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries.
Mindscape Commons is an online resource of immersive and interactive content in mental health. It includes nearly 200 experiences, together with documentation and tools to help clinicians, faculty, students, and researchers in the areas of counselling, social work, psychology, nursing, sociology, and related programs. Although the best experience is with a VR headset, videos can be viewed on a laptop with no special equipment needed.
Trial database feedback
We'd love to hear what you think about the trial databases on offer. To have your voice heard, please fill in the feedback form
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.