A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.
Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.
The database is updated daily.
Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and CSU Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.
Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Informit Online is a set of mainly Australian databases containing indexes, and some with full text material, in a wide range of subjects, including Business, Science, Health, Social sciences, Computing, Education, and Religion.
These databases can be searched individually or in combination. Once in the Informit platform, you can change to another database by clicking on the CHANGE DATABASES button at the top of the search screen.
You can select databases by Subject, Full Text Database Name, or Database Name, or you can use the Find Relevant Database feature, where "Informit will recommend the most relevant databases based on your search terms".
ProQuest is a provider of a huge range of databases covering all subject areas, and including a range of sources. Most of these databases include full-text material, but some, particularly in the environmental sciences area, are databases of abstracts only.
Subject strengths include biological science, earth & environmental sciences, general science, business, education, health & medicine, and social sciences.
Sources include mainly journals, but there are two specialised database of interest:
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - an important database of dissertations and theses from America and Europe;
* ANZ Newsstand - a database of Australian and New Zealand newspaper articles.
The link here takes you to searching across ALL the ProQuest databases. Once you are in ProQuest, you can pick and choose from the menu of databases by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen.
ScienceDirect is an Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas of:
- physical sciences and engineering;
- life sciences;
- health sciences;
- social sciences and humanities.
CSU Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of approximately 2,100 of the 2,500 journals. There is some full-text eBook content available as well. Search results are available in the form of journal articles and book chapters.
If you wish to limit your search to full-text content, go to Advanced Search, and tick the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. At the same screen, you can also specify Journal or Book (or both) content.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the SFX button to search for the full-text in other CSU Library subscription resources.
Most full-text content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database which has more than 53 million records from nearly 22,000 titles from 5,000 publishers.
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.
From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at CSU are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.
One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online, to CSU users, is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.
While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find it - CSU link to search for the full item in other CSU-subscribed resources.
Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.
This is a comprehensive international directory of serials (journals) with all sorts of information about each one. It is important because you can use it to check if a journal is "refereed" (peer-reviewed).
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials (periodicals) published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are free or subscribed. The database includes hundreds of thousands of serials from more than 90,000 publishers.
You can search using Simple or Advanced Search. To search for a serial title as a phrase, enclose the words in double quotation marks. You results lists will show brief records in a table with columns for Title, Publisher, ISSN, Country, Status, Serial Type, and Format, and other columns marked by icons.
You can change the columns that are displayed in the table, by clicking on Change Columns in the top right corner of the table.
In your results list, click on the title of a serial to see the full record. This includes a wealth of information about the publication, in sections including Basic Description, Subject Classifications, Additional Title Details, Online Availability, Abstracting & Indexing Sources, and Full Text Sources.
You can use Ulrichsweb to check that a journal is peer-reviewed. When you search for a journal, your results list will include a column (third from left) marked by the icon of a basketball referees shirt. This column indicates the peer-reviewed status of the journal.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A cadaver-based anatomy resource, developed in Australia, which features dissection on real bodies and covers the entire body in nine modules, including one on General Anatomy.
The other modules are: head; neck; upper limb; thorax; abdomen; back; pelvis; and lower limb.
Within each module there are four “perspectives”:
* Systems Perspective - includes conceptual and clinical anatomy
* Regions Perspective - includes surface and functional anatomy
* Dissection Perspective - includes practical procedures
* Imaging Perspective - includes sectional and endoscopic anatomy.
Each perspective is divided into chapters and topics; a breadcrumb trail at the top of every screen allows for easy navigation of the entire resource.
Photos and images are accompanied by interactive text, labels, and questions. Other features include clinical procedures, instructor resources, and an image bank with several thousand images.
For initial help with this resource you can go to the Introduction which has three introductory videos, while Anatomedia also provides a further set of Videos of Modules.