It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A commercial image bank of fine art images from around the world.
Bridgeman Art Library, also known as Bridgeman Images, is a commercial online image bank of images covering more than 8000 collections and 29,000 artists. All images have been catalogued with full picture data, with keywords added to help searching, and the database includes Quick and Advanced Search.
Bridgeman Art Library claims to "represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users" and to provide "an archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world, all of which are available for licensing".
So its main purpose is to make images of artworks available for commercial use. This means that there are limitations on use, and users accessing this resource will be taken via a webpage where they need to indicate that they agree with these conditions.
Bridgeman Art Library is similar to, but not exactly the same as, Bridgeman Education. There are differences in content and functionality. Bridgeman Education is recommended as it is a subscription resource.
An Australian Informit database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with EduTV selected. See more ... below.
Lecturers and students can find and instantly watch Australian television content.
Features of this database include:
* Instant streaming access to more than 10,000 programs via computer, tablet, or smartphone;
* Archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly;
* Content which includes documentaries, drama, series, and more from both free-to-air and pay-TV;
* Study guides and articles to complement the programs.
Your searching from this link will be within the EduTV database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in EduTV. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
A streaming video resource for educational institutions with thousands of films, TV series, and documentaries.
When using a mobile device you need to download Kanopy's app.
Kanopy provides more than 26,000 films, TV series, and documentaries covering all subjects and sourced from leading producers such as HBO California Newsreel, PBS, BBC, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, and Documentary Education Resources. This content can be viewed on a range of platforms and devices.
You can search the database, or browse by subject. The top-level subject categories are:
* The Arts
* Global Studies & Languages
* Media & Communications
* Social Sciences
* Instructional Films & Lessons.
Each of these subject categories has further sub-categories.
You can create a user account and this allows you to: manage your personal profile details; create, share, and embed video clips and playlists; create watchlists of favourite films; and maintain a log of your viewing history. To create a user account, click on the Sign up button at the top right of the Kanopy screen, and follow the prompts. Whenever you are subsequently signed in, you can access your Dashboard from the top right of screen.
A collection of online streaming videos from Alexander Street Press, covering art history and theory, and architectural and graphic design. Part of the wider VAST: Academic Video Online collection.
Specific topics covered include art history and theory, contemporary art, modern art, neoclassicism, Renaissance art, Romanticism, architectural design, and graphic design.
Content includes documentaries and interviews.
The collection can be searched using Basic or Advanced Search, and/or browsed in a number of ways. The collection has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource:
* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.
Once in this database you can search/browse in other disciplines in the VAST collection. You can also access the full VAST collection at VAST: Academic Video Online. You can search/browse across all the Alexander Street Press video collections at Alexander Street Press Video.