Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AGSPS Professional Development Guide: Free university resources

Walk-in access

Some database licenses allow the library to provide access to anyone who is physically inside the library.  Some universities may also have a computer terminal dedicated to visitors and/or a guest login.  This is often called walk-in access.

Is there a university library near you? Ask them if they have walk-in access.

Alumni access

In academia alumni are former students of an educational institution. Most university libraries will offer some services to their alumni. Database licenses will restrict what can be offered to alumni. However, some database vendors offer a database package specifically for alumni - such as the EBSCOhost Academic Search Alumni journal database.

Registered CSU Alumni (graduates of CSU and its predecessor institutions and former staff) can access print collections and selected journal databases.  To register, or to find further information see the CSU Alumni Benefit Program and our Online resources for graduates guide.

If you're an alumnus from another university you can contact the library or Alumni office of that university and ask what electronic access they provide to their alumni.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the internet for scholarly information. 

Google Scholar retrieves information from:

  • academic publishers
  • professional organisations
  • university repositories
  • professional websites

Google Scholar also retrieves information from journal databases.  However, unless you have a university login you will be unable to access these resources freely. 

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.