Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NRS221 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Understanding Journal Databases

Which Databases should I choose?

The Journal Articles page on the Nursing Library Resource Guide provides a list of relevant journals and databases. The most popular Nursing-specific database that we subscribe to is CINAHL Plus. For an introduction to searching in CINAHL, read through the CINAHL Plus page of this guide.

Visit the Nursing Journal Databases listing for all potentially useful databases in your area. Note that you don't have to use every database for every assignment - but nor should you restrict your search to one database only.

Searching in a database

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments. They help you locate peer reviewed articles, are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results, and have many options for refining results.

Full Text

Sometimes you will read that a database is 'full text', or that an article can be found in 'full text'. 'Full text' means that the entire document is available online. When a database carries an article in full text there will be a hyperlink to view it as either a PDF or html document. Not all journal databases contain full text.

If an article is not available in full text you may be able to locate it in another database. Clicking on the Find itbutton will allow you to check if the article is available elsewhere. 

Want to learn more about journal databases?

  • The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching and recordings are available to watch on demand.
  • We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases.