Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MKT501 - Research Skills Guide: Company, market & industry information

Where can I find company information?

Journal databases:

  1. Can help you locate company information and full text news articles
  2. Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  3. Have many options for refining results

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Business subject area contains databases such as D&B Hoovers (One Source), and  IBISWorld  for finding company information as well as Factiva and ANZ Newstream which also can provide newspaper, web and media articles about companies.

Within the databases listed below you'll be able to locate company and industry reports and well as country and consumer information. Searching for this type of information does involve a few different strategies than you may be used to, so check out the search tips in the table below.

Often company and consumer information can be found in government and organisation websites. We've listed some recommended websites below as well.

Searching for company, industry and market information in library databases

The databases featured below provide access to company and industry information.

For further recommendations and to see demonstrations of these search tips check out our Company and Industry information guide.

Database

About

Search tips

D&B Hoovers

Previously known as D&B Global Business Browser and before that as OneSource: Global Business Browser, this database provides a range of public and private company and industry information, worldwide and from the Asia Pacific and Australia/New Zealand regions.

When you first log in you might see a Preferences Setup screen. You can change certain preferences here if you like, and then click on Continue

The search box at the top of the screen defaults to showing Search for a Company

The results list shows basic information, but more information is displayed when Quick View is selected 

IBISWorld

IBISWorld is a private company which specialises in company and industry research. The collection here consists of Australian company and industry reports and analyses.

For company reports select Company Research then Australia Company Reports then search using the company name or code.

For industry reports and business environment profiles select Industry research and browse or search search industry name, code or keyword.

Factiva

A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.

NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licenses to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.

Company Snapshot - from the Companies/Markets tab select Company. Search by company name, DUNS, Registration ID or Ticker. 
 

Industry Snapshots - from the Companies/Markets tab select Industry and choose the type of industry you are interested in from the list.

ABI/INFORM Collection

ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.

For Company Profiles - enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

For Industry Reports - enter industry into the Advance search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Business Source Complete

An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.

For Company Profiles - click on More from the drop down menu in the top toolbar above the search box and select Company Profiles or select Company Information link in the top toolbar.

For Industry Reports - enter the name of an industry into the search box and limit to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report from the Publication Type box.

Business Market Research Collection

ProQuest database with company and industry market research from 3 sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles; OxResearch; and Snapshots Series.

Company Profile - Enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

Industry Report - Enter industry into the Advanced search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Warc Covering marketing and advertising, Warc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.

Case studies - use the Case Finder tool to search by keyword and limit by a range of filters including media & channels, target audience, budget and more.

Research articles, trends, company profiles and more can be found by opening the menu in the top right and expanding the analysis options. Alternatively use the basic or advanced search function and then use the left hand side options to filter your results.

Connect 4 - Annual Reports This Australian product from Thomson Reuters provides the full-text of the annual reports of all companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, back to 1992. You can search by various criteria such as Text Search, ASX Code and Company Name. A range of company documentation is available. Results show selected, predecessor, and successor companies.

 

Finding country & consumer information

Many of the databases in the table on the left can also be used to find company and consumer information, such as country demographics, and insight into different elements of an industry or consumer environments such as political, economic and social.

Business Source Complete and ABI/INFORM provide a range of academic research and media articles about your country but also a range of country reports and economic information. Use options to search for your country as a "geographic term" or as a "Location", then refine your results to country reports.

The WARC database also allows you to browse for information by geography or by consumer and audience groups.

When looking for consumer information think about different categories of information that will help you understand your target audience such as:

  • demographics
  • geography and location
  • psychology and interests

again lots of this information can be found using the databases on the left or the recommended websites below.

Useful websites

Country, demographic & location information

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides access to valuable demographic information including age, income and SES, education levels, nationality, etc as well as key statistics about a range of Australian industries.
  • CIA - The World Factbook
  • Country Information IMF
  • Country statistical profiles OCED 
  • Country Statistical Yearbook
  • Eurostat
  • i.d demographic resources provides reports, videos, analysis and insights for a range of community areas. Not all reports are freely available, and some will require you to create a (free) account before accessing.
  • Government websites including state tourism sites or council website can give insights into interests, events, populations and industries in particular regions.
  • Online real estate sites such as Domain or realestate.com can provide information on property and land values, rental costs and suburb or town features and infrastructure.

Company information, annual reports and industry information

  • AnnualReports.com Links to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMES, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V
  • Australian Industry Group Resource Centre(Ai Group) - Australian industry association provides access to some free online resources such as economic outlook reports.
  • Australian Stock Exchange company directory Find market data and information about companies listed on the ASX
  • deListed -covers companies that are delisted, suspended, in administration, in receivership, and in liquidation. Only covers companies previously listed on ASX