Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MGT382 Research Skills Guide: Find Industry Information

Research Strategy for Five Forces Analysis

This table directs you to our different library databases where you can analyse the five forces.

Five Forces

Where do I research? (Which database and within that database - which menus do I use?)

Buyers

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Major Markets, Demand Determinants
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition

2.Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream OR Factiva - use keywords to search news articles and trade publications

3.Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) - economic and financial statistics

Suppliers

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Supply Chain
  • Major Companies: Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Cost Structure Benchmarks

2.Use company's public investor relations webpage to identify suppliers

Competitive rivalry

1.D&B Hoovers Company Information:

  • Advanced: Competitors, Closest Industry Peers, Closest Companies
  • Industry Information: Challenges, Trends & Opportunities

2.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition, Barriers to Entry, Market Share Concentration
  • Operating Conditions: Capital Intensity
  • Industry Life Cycle
  • Industry Outlook

3.Business Source Complete and/or ABI/INFORM Collection - locate company profiles (includes information on competitors)

Potential new entrants

1.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Barriers to entry & Cost Structure Benchmarks
  • Operating Conditions: Regulation & Policy, Industry Assistance, Technology & Systems
Firms with Substitute Products

1.Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream - use keywords  to search news articles and trade publications

2.IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition
  • About this industry: Similar Industries, Related International Industries

Industry Research Tips

You can use the Library's databases to help your research process. Specific databases can help you find company information and newspaper articles. For further information and video demonstrations, have a look at the next couple of pages in this guide. For strategic analysis of a company you will need to use company information alongside industry analysis and/or the market a company operates in (eg is it Australian or international?).

Using IBIS World

To find Australian industry information, you can use IBIS World Australia Industry Reports which analyses a broad view of an industry including industry profiles, supply chains, main activities, leading companies, market overviews, consumers, forecasts and much more.

Using D&B Hoovers

To identify a company's major competitors try using D&B Hoovers company profiles.

Finding industry data

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is a good place to look (www.abs.gov.au). It provides official economic and financial statistics for Australia and you can look up industries. Use the Statistics tab then Industry or try searching television in the search box.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.