Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MGT340 Research Skills Guide: Country Information

Country information

In this subject you are expected to find information about different countries. There is a range of authoritative country information available in our library databases.

In the table below you'll see some of the same databases as listed on the previous page. We can use these same databases, but with a different search strategy to find country information.

There is also a wealth of information freely available online. Your subject outline recommends starting with the Countries, economies and regions page of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website. See further suggestions below on the right.

Finding country information in library databases

Database

About

Search tips

Business Source Complete

An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.

This database not only provides a range of academic research and media articles about your country but also a range of country reports and economic information.

  • Country Reports : Enter the country name into search box and select GE Geographic Term from the drop down Select a Field menu. Select 'Country Report' from the Publication Type box below.

  • These reports are drawn from a variety of different sources such as Business Monitor International, Country Monitor, Global Insight, Data Monitor, some reports also include a SWOT and PESTLE analysis.

ABI/INFORM Collection

ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.

This database not only provides a range of academic research and media articles about your country but also a range of country reports and economic information.

  • Country Information : Go to the Advanced Search option. Enter the country name into the first search box and  select LOCATION or LOC from the "in" drop down menu.Enter the term "country report" into the second search box.   Select the checkbox Reports from the Document Type box below.

  • ABI/Inform will provide a variety of reports including BMI Risk Reports, Country Reports by the Economist Intelligence Unit and Oxford Economics Country Economic Forecast.

Warc

Covering marketing and advertising, Warc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.

WARC also provides research articles, marketing analysis and case studies on products that can be limited to different geographical regions around the world.

  • Open the Topics page by selecting the menu button in the top right, then selecting analysis > topics. From here you can browse content by Topic, Category or Geographies. Select Geographies and chose your target country or region to find the latest case studies, articles and most read information.

  • You could also enter into the search box the product or service you are interested in and then limit the results by Country.

 

Other internet resources

Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, non governmental human rights organisation that publishes reports and briefings on human rights conditions in 90 countries around the world.

International Labour Organisation (ILO) is a tripartite U.N. agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member states to set labour standards, develop policies, provide research and devise programs.
 
Transparency International works with partners around the world in government, business and civil society to put effective measures in place to tackle corruption.