Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JST117 Research Skills Guide: News articles

Where to find News Articles

Assessment item 4 requires you to locate a recent (less than 3 months old) news report on a crime issue to use as the basis of tasks assessment task 5.

Whilst you will be able to find some news articles in Primo Search, the best place to find news articles is in the Library's News Journal Databases.

Google can also be used to find news articles published by local newspapers.  However don't limit yourself to just using Google; try using the news databases and Google. The Library's databases include articles available only via subscription, which Google won't find.

See below for a short demonstration on how to find newspaper articles using ANZ Newsstream, Factiva and Primo Search.

Locating Newspaper Articles

Australia

The best source for Australian news articles is the ANZ Newsstream database. 

This journal database allows you search multiple Australian newspapers at the same time.

To get the best search results:

  • Before you start searching, change the 'Location' limiter at the bottom of the screen to your chosen local area.  This will limit your search results to your chosen region only;
  • On the search results screen, use the 'Publication Date' limiter on the left-hand side of the screen to limit your results to the last three months.

Take a look at the ProQuest video for further information about how to use this database.

Rest of World

For news articles outside of Australia, the best source is Factiva.

To get the best search results:

  • Before you start searching, change the 'Region' limiter to your country of choice to limit your search results to articles from your chosen country only.
  • On the search results screen, use the 'Date' limiter on the left-hand side to limit your search results to the last 3 months.

Take a look at UTS Library's video on using Factiva below for further information about using this database.

Using google effectively

How to search ProQuest databases

Using Factiva to find News Articles