Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ITC105 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Information Technology databases will be particularly useful for your study.

TRY IT NOW

For Assessment 2/3, you will need to go outside the usual databases that you might use for an information technology course. 

Depending on what topic you choose, you might be best using:

  • Humanities, Social Work and Human Services databases
  • Environmental Science databases
  • Animal and Veterinary Sciences Databases
  • Education databases

Keep in mind that you can look at the database summaries description to find out what areas the database covers.

Choose a database that you think matches your topic and do a search using the keywords that you identified in the Topic Analysis.

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search?
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it button or the FIND IT button  to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Searching in a database