Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INF211/406 Research Skills Guide: Journal databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases are an excellent source of discipline-specific scholarly information for your assessments. While the Library predominantly calls them journal databases, they can also contain conference papers, theses, eBooks, images, multimedia and video, etc.

You can find the Library's databases on the A-Z Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Information and Library Studies list will be particularly useful for your study.

FULL TEXT DATABASES

Full text databases contain full text electronic items (such as articles, conference papers, reports and so on).

An example of the Library's full text databases is:

INDEX AND ABSTRACT DATABASES

Index and abstract databases can guide users to useful information resources (just like a catalogue) but may not include full-text items. The items may still be available online, but not necessarily within the index database. 

An example of one of the Library's index databases is: 

The Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science gives you good definitions and examples of indexes, abstracts and abstracting and indexing databases.

VIDEO AND MULTIMEDIA DATABASES

Video collections and multimedia collections hold visual material, including images, streaming video, interactive multimedia, and learning materials.

An example of one of the Library's video databases is:

Check out our lists of Video databasesMultimedia databases, and News databases.

Searching in a database

Understanding Databases

Need some help with understanding how to use databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.