USEFUL INFORMATION
- Indigenous Language MapThis map showcases over 780 language communities around Australia.
- National Archives of AustraliaSearch through a great number of records about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and history.
- Indigenous Weather KnowledgeCheck out this intricate knowledge of the environment developed over thousands of years.
- State Library of NSW - Indigenous AustraliansExplore Aboriginal culture, history, language and art through the Library's stunning collection of manuscripts, artworks, photographs and printed books.
- The Koori History WebsiteIndigenous history archive and education resource project.
GOVERNMENT
Australian Federal Government sites:
- Indigenous.gov.au - Connecting Indigenous Australians with Government policies and programs.
- National Indigenous Australians Agency - Works closely with State and Territory governments to ensure Indigenous programs and services are aiming for united objectives.
- The Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council - Advises Government on practical changes to improve the lives of Indigenous peoples.
Australian State Government sites:
- NSW Office of Communities: Aboriginal Affairs NSW
- Western Australian Government: Aboriginal Affairs
- Queensland Government: Department of Seniors, Disability Services and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
- ACT Government: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Services
- Northern Territory Government: Office of Aboriginal Affairs
- Tasmanian Government: Office of Aboriginal Affairs
- Victorian Government: First Peoples - State Relations
EDUCATION
- 8 Aboriginal Ways of LearningThis framework allows teachers to include Aboriginal perspectives by using Aboriginal learning techniques.
- NSW Education Standards Authority: Aboriginal Educational ContextsThis website shows the educational and cultural journeys of teachers, students and community members in a range of schools and communities.
- TAFE NSW: Aboriginal EducationExplore courses offered by TAFE NSW, ranging from Indigenous music and film to Aboriginal languages and cultures.
STATISTICS
- Australian Bureau of Statistics: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander PeoplesAustralian Bureau of Statistics reports and data on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders
- Indigenous Australians - Australian Institute of Health and WelfareA statistical overview of the health of Indigenous Australians
- Australia's welfare 2021: In briefTells the story of welfare in Australia with key findings on Indigenous Australians.
HEALTH
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNetThis website provides research to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health.
- The Lowitja InstituteAn organisation that concentrates on research to improve Indigenous health.
- Indigenous Allied Health AustraliaThis body supports workers in the allied health sector to improve the health and wellbeing of Indigenous Australians.
- Working together: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health and wellbeing principles and practiceA resource for mental health professionals, social workers and students working in the field of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health and wellbeing.
LEGAL
- Aboriginal Customary Laws ReportRead the key recommendations from this report.
- Australian Human Rights Commission: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Social JusticeWorks to develop international human rights standards relating to Indigenous Australians
- Indigenous Justice ClearinghouseProvide accessible information about Indigenous justice issues
- National Native Title TribunalProvides information on native title.
MEDIA & THE ARTS
- ABC Online IndigenousThe ABC's portal for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.
- National Film and Sound Archives - Indigenous CollectionIncludes moving image and sound recordings of Indigenous peoples and cultures over the past 110 years.
- National Indigenous Television (NITV)Made by, for and about Indigenous Australians, educating all Australians and opening a dialogue with the wider community.
- The Koori Mail Online CollectionThe digitised collection of Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
