Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GER102 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases: 

  • are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results; and
  • have many options for refining results

Locate the Library's databases on the A-Z Databases page. The Library has grouped all the databases into subject areas.

The Allied Health and the Humanities, Social Work & Human Services pages will be particularly useful for your studies.

Key Journal Databases

Activity

Choose a database from the key databases above. Login with your Charles Sturt University username and password if prompted.

Conduct a search for: women AND retirement

  • Because these are Health or Social Sciences databases, the results should be more relevant to your topic, even if you get less results than when your searched in Primo Search and Google Scholar.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it at CSU button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Want to learn more about journal databases?

  • The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching. 
  • We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases. 

journal articles & library databases

Searching journal databases

Take a look at the videos below to learn how to search within the EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases.

Full Text

Sometimes you will read that a database is 'full text', or that an article can be found in 'full text'. 'Full text' means that the entire document is available online. When a database carries an article in full text there will be a hyperlink to view it as either a PDF or html document. Not all journal databases contain full text.

If an article is not available in full text you may be able to locate it in another database. Clicking on the Find itbutton will allow you to check if the article is available elsewhere.