Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science honours: Searching Multiple Databases

Searching in the 4 Main Database Platforms - Choose from the links below

EBSCOhost is a platform for about 30 databases covering most of the subjects taught at CSU. It includes a number of subject-specific databases, plus the multi-subject database Academic Search Complete.

In EBSCOhost, you can change from one database to another, or select multiple databases, by clicking on Choose Databases above the search boxes.

When you go to an EBSCOhost database, you should be in the Advanced Search screen.

EBSCOhost defaults to a keyword-search. If you type in ... tertiary education, this will search for tertiary AND education. To search for the phrase tertiary education, you need to enclose the words in double quotation marks ... "tertiary education".

The field(s) to be searched defaults to Select a Field (optional). This includes the main fields in the records. This varies from database to database but usually includes author, title, subject/keywords, and abstract. To specify a field to be searched, use the drop-down menu.

EBSCOhost defaults to sorting results by Relevance.

To see more information about each item, click on the Preview button to the right of the record. To add it into a folder, click on the Add to Folder button beside the Preview button.

To see the full record, and access various tools, click on the title of the item.

In EBSCOhost databases, the title of the item appears at the top of each brief record. You can click on it to go to the full record.

CSU Library has put together a series of subject packages of EBSCOhost databases including:

ProQuest is a platform for nearly 100 databases covering most of the subjects taught at CSU. The database menu is organised in a hierarchical structure, with many of the top-level databases consisting of subsidiary databases.

ProQuest databases should default to the Advanced Search screen.

ProQuest defaults to a keyword-search. This means that if you wish to search for the keyword tertiary and the keyword education, you should type in tertiary education. If you wish to search for the specific phrase tertiary education, you should type in "tertiary education".

ProQuest defaults to searching in Anywhere except full-text

ProQuest defaults to sorting your results by Relevance.

To see, and go back to, the results of previous searches, click on the clock icon (Recent Searches) at the top right of screen. 

When you are in any ProQuest database, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change Databases link.

Informit is a platform for nearly 100 databases which have mainly Australian content.

Informit databases should default to the Advanced Search screen.

In Advanced Search, you can specify the field(s) to be searched, and whether your search will be a keyword-search (All terms) or a phrase-search (Exact phrase). You can also specify that your search terms are combined with the OR operator (Any terms).

Informit defaults to sorting your results by Date (newest first). You can change this to Relevance.

To see, and go back to the results of, previous searches, click on the Search History link in the black bar across the top of the screen.

Ovid is a platform with lots of databases and with subject strengths in health and medicine, nursing, psychology, and earth sciences. It includes the databases MEDLINE, a number of EBM Reviews databases, PsycINFO, and CAB Abstracts.

In Ovid, you can change from one database to another, or select multiple databases from the menu, by clicking on Change in the Search panel.

Ovid databases should default to the Advanced Search screen. Here, the default is to a phrase search. If you wish to search for the keyword brain and the keyword injury, you should type in brain AND injury. If you wish to search for the specific phrase brain injury, you can type in brain injury (without quotation marks).

In Basic Search you can enter your topic in pretty much whatever words you like, and your results will be tagged and sorted by relevance.

Search History. Ovid always displays your previous searches in a table above the search box. If you can't see all of your previous searches, click on the Expand link at the top right of this table.

The Ovid search interface has options to search by keyword, author, title and journal, and to view your search history

Searching in more than one database in EBSCOhost

If you wish to search more extensively within the EBSCOhost platform, you can search across multiple databases at the same time. Here's how:

On the main search screen, click on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes, then select other databases in the tick-box menu. You will search across all the databases that are ticked.

The EBSCOhost databases menu shows the list of databases. You can use the tick boxes beside each one to select or deselect them.

Searching in More Than One Database in ProQuest

If you wish to search more extensively within the ProQuest platform, you can change to searching any combination of ProQuest databases by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail: