Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FIN531 Research Skills Guide CSU: Use Newspaper & Media Databases

Newspaper and Media Databases

The Library subscribes to a number of newspaper and video databases which can be helpful for finding recent information about Australian financial and economic news. These databases are listed below, or you can also use Primo Search to search across a number of databases at once.

Many media outlets will have extensive websites often including online versions of their publications. Articles can be found by searching  in the publication website or using Google Search.

Please note, some online newspapers require subscription access to view their full publications. If you find an article that requires you to purchase the full text try searching for it in one of the Library databases.

Locating Newspaper Articles

Media Databases

Australian Financial Review

Looking for newspaper articles from Australian Financial Review (AFR)? To search AFR within Factiva:

  1. Enter the desired search terms into the Search box
  2. Select Source
  3. Search for then choose, The Australian Financial Review
     

Australian Newspapers

The best source for Australian news articles is the ANZ Newsstream database. 

This journal database allows you search multiple Australian newspapers at the same time.

To get the best search results:

  • Before you start searching, change the 'Location' limiter at the bottom of the screen to your chosen local area.  This will limit your search results to your chosen region only;
  • On the search results screen, use the 'Publication Date' limiter on the left-hand side of the screen to limit your results to the last three months.

Take a look at the ProQuest video below for further information about how to use this database.