Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Should You Use Journal Databases?
best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments help you locate
peer reviewed articles Are
subject specific, so that you get more relevant results Have many options for
You can find the Library's databases on the
page. A-Z Databases
Databases are grouped into subject areas. The
will be particularly useful for your study. Business databases
Academic or scholarly sources
What is an academic or scholarly source?
Authoritative: it identifies the qualifications and expertise of the writer It is
well-cited: academic writing always credits the origins of information and ideas with a reference list It is usually
peer-reviewed or refereed: other academics have read and reviewed the work before publication. It is
objective: an academic source should aim to examine a topic fairly, not ignoring opposing opinions It is
written for academics: university lecturers, students, and professionals in the field.
TRY IT NOW
Go to the
Business Source Complete database, and try typing in – Australia* AND "equity markets" (you may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password).
Did you get less results than Primo Search? Being a
Business database, they should be more relevant to your topic. Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the
button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
Find Peer reviewed articles
Articles published in peer reviewed or refereed journals have been through a formal approval process. This process is intended to ensure that the article is:
contributing to the body of knowledge in the field
To find peer reviewed articles:
show only peer reviewed journals in Primo Search Limit to
peer reviewed or scholarly journals in journal databases
However, as these options are just an indication of peer review status the definitive way to find out if your article has been peer reviewed is to use
Ulrichsweb Global Periodicals Directory.