Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ESA512 Research Skills Guide: Journal Databases

WHAT IS A DATABASE?

Journal databases are collections of journals, articles, conference papers, reports, and more, generally arranged by subject.  The strength of journal databases is that  they have many options for expanding or refining your search results, and they will link between themselves, so that an abstract found on one database can help you find the full text if it is held elsewhere.

Charles Sturt University subscribes to many Databases on your behalf. These databases have been categorised by subject area to help you find what you're looking for more effectively. There are also some journal databases that Primo Search cannot search.

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the A to Z Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Education & Teaching Database page will be particularly useful for your study.

Have a look at the  Database Help Guide for tips on how to search a particular database.

AN EBSCO SEARCH EXAMPLE

Here is an example on a search in EBSCOhost Education:

  • Search Row 1: educat* OR school OR classroom
  • [AND] Search Row 2: diverse
  • [AND] Search Row 3: strateg*

In this search I have used:

  • AND to narrow the results
  • OR to include synonyms
  • An asterisk* at the end of the word to allow all endings 

Can you try a search in EBSCOhost Education where you find three articles useful for your assignment?

Try to:

  • limit to the last five years
  • change the term strateg* to an area you are interested in; for example: ethnic*

Write down the details of articles. You will need these details later in this tutorial.

Searching in a database

Understanding Databases

Need some help with understanding how to use databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Key Education Studies Databases

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.