Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPT127 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

WHAT IS A DATABASE?

Journal databases are collections of journals, articles, conference papers, reports, and more, generally arranged by subject.  The strength of journal databases is that  they have many options for expanding or refining your search results, and they will link between themselves, so that an abstract found on one database can help you find the full text if it is held elsewhere.

Charles Sturt University subscribes to many Databases on your behalf. These databases have been categorised by subject area to help you find what you're looking for more effectively. There are also some journal databases that Primo Search cannot search.

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Teaching & Education Databases will be particularly useful for your study.

TRY IT NOW

Go to the EBSCOhost Education database, which includes Education-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content including the important database ERIC.

Try typing in  –

literac*

speaking AND listening

twenty-first century OR 21st century 

(you may need to sign in first with your Charles Sturt University username and password).

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search?  Being an Education database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the                 Find it              button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Searching in a database

Key Education Studies Databases

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.