Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM120 Research Skills Guide: Use Library Databases

Why Should You Use Library Databases?

Library databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Library Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. You can use whichever of the groups seems the most relevant to your research.

Activity

Open one of the Information Technology subject area databases in a new window. Log in and try searching for some of the keywords from our Smartphones topic – e.g. smartphone AND preference.

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an Information Technology database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the                 Find it             button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.