Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CCI101 Research Skills Guide: Step 4: Where to search

Where to search

It's important to use academic, peer-reviewed sources for your essays. The best place to find these is at the Library, in both print and online collections.
As a CSU student, you have free access to:

  • Primo Search, the library's catalogue
    • This includes online resources, print material, and your course readings
  • Journal databases
  • Videos, multimedia and news databases.

Primo Search

Primo Search allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of the Library collection, such as:

  • Books, eBooks, DVDs and journals
  • Most online journal articles and newspaper articles
  • Course readings
  • Charles Sturt University research papers and theses

Enter your search terms, and then use the links on the results screen to refine your results, view online material, or locate physical resources.

Journal databases

Journal databases are an excellent source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments.

They will:

  • Help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results.

You can find the Library's databases on the A-Z Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Communication & Creative Industries databases will be particularly useful for your study.

Some good databases to start with include:

What is Primo Search?

Finding Readings in Primo Search

If you paste in the whole citation you will usually get no results.

Search for the article title for a journal article.

Search for the book title for a book or book chapter - add an author if you get too many results.

Searching using your subject code to find eReserve and print items that are on reserve for your subject.