Whilst you will be able to find some news articles in Primo Search, the best place to find news articles is in the Library's News & Current Affairs Databases. Watch the short recording below which demonstrates two of our library databases: ANZ Newsstream and Factiva.
Google can also be used to find news articles published by local newspapers. However don't limit yourself to just using Google; try using the news databases and Google. The Library's databases include articles available only via subscription, which Google won't find.
The Internet is a great place to locate background information and additional resources outside of scholarly publications.
There are some tips and tricks you can implement to make the most out of Google Search and improve the relevance and quality of your results. These strategies are slightly different to those offered in Primo Search and journal databases.
While Google Search does offer an Advanced Search, which you might like to use, you can use these strategies within the basic search box to provide you with the same control.
|Search for an exact phrase or match||
Put your search terms in quotation marks
|Exclude a word from your search||
Put a minus symbol - before any word you want to exclude
|Search within a range of numbers||
Use two periods .. between the numbers to return results within that range
"small business fraud" 2018..2019
|Search within a website||
Use site: to search within a particular web address or to limit your results to a domain type
|Limit by geographical area or time frame||Use the Google Tools drop down options to limit to Australia results and/or select a timeframe for your results|
The best source for Australian news articles is the ANZ Newsstream database.
This journal database allows you search multiple Australian newspapers at the same time.
To get the best search results:
Looking for newspaper articles from Australian Financial Review (AFR)? You can find AFR articles in Primo Search, Proquest Business Databases and Factiva.
To search AFR within Factiva:
For more help with Factiva see the following guide https://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.