Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACC311 Research Skills Guide: Find company information

Where can I find company information?

Library databases:

  1. Can help you locate company information and full text news articles
  2. Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  3. Have many options for refining results

Databases are grouped into subject areas. On our A-Z Databases page select the Business subject area which contains databases such as D&B Hoovers and Factiva for finding company information and news articles about a company as well as ANZ Newsstream which also can provide newspaper articles about companies.

Search For Company or Industry reports in Charles Sturt databases

The seven databases featured below provide access to company and industry information.

Database

About

Find Company information

D&B Hoovers

Previously known as D&B Global Business Browser and before that as OneSource: Global Business Browser, this database provides a range of public and private company and industry information, worldwide and from the Asia Pacific and Australia/New Zealand regions.

When you first log in you might see a Preferences Setup screen. You can change certain preferences here if you like, and then click on Continue

The search box at the top of the screen defaults to showing Search for a Company

The results list shows basic information, but more information is displayed when Quick View is selected 

IBISWorld

IBISWorld is a private company which specialises in company and industry research. The collection here consists of Australian company and industry reports and analyses.

On the main page of the database, choose Australian Company reports

Enter the company name into the search box

Factiva

A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.

NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licenses to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.

Company Snapshot - from the Companies/Markets tab select Company. Search by company name, DUNS, Registration ID or Ticker. 
 

Industry Snapshots - from the Companies/Markets tab select Industry and choose the type of industry you are interested in from the list.

ABI/INFORM Collection

ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.

For Company Profiles - enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

For Industry Reports - enter industry into the Advance search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Business Source Complete

An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.

For Company Profiles - click on More from the drop down menu in the top toolbar above the search box and select Company Profiles or select Company Information link in the top toolbar.

For Industry Reports - enter the name of an industry into the search box and limit to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report from the Publication Type box.

Business Market Research Collection

ProQuest database with company and industry market research from 3 sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles; OxResearch; and Snapshots Series.

Company Profile - Enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

Industry Report - Enter industry into the Advanced search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Warc Covering marketing and advertisingWarc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.

Case studies - use the Case Finder tool to search by keyword and limit by a range of filters including media & channels, target audience, budget and more.

Research articles and company profiles can be found by browsing and searching using the Topics tab.

 

Finding Company Information

Web Resources

AnnualReports.com Links to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMES, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides access to key statistics about a range of Australian industry.

Austrade  - The Australian government trade commission for Australian exporters and information for companies wanting to do business with Australia.

Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) - Australian industry association provides access to some free online resources such as economic outlook reports.

Australian Securities Exchange ASX Find market data and information about companies listed on the ASX.

Department of Industry, Innovation and Science - Government Industry Reports including: Advanced Manufacturing, Automotive, Biotechnology, Building, Metals and Contruction, Defense, Space etc.

KPMG Australia Consultancy firm that conducts and publishes industry market research reports and may be available in full text on their website.

NSW Department of Industry - provides access to reports including economic reports, annual reports and industry profiles