AusDI, previously known as Catalyst, is an Australian database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images, and Interactions and Safety monographs.
AusDI has been available to CSU users under a couple of different names – AusDI Advanced, and Catalyst – but is now (August 2013) available as a combination of these two resources.
It contains over 80,000 pages of medicines information, covering over 5,000 products including prescription medicines, hospital use, over-the-counter (OTC) products including many complementary medicines, devices, diagnostic agents, and dressings.
You can browse datasets by Product List, Product Summary, Product Information, Independent Drug Monograph, Consumer Medicine Information, Indications, and Therapeutic class.
Search options include Quick Product Search, Advanced Product Search, and Free Text Search, and you can search medicines information by brand, active ingredient, therapeutic class, or indication, and even by dose form, colour, markings, and shape.
AusDI features the new "Mobile Optimised AusDI". which means it has been optimised for iPhone, iPad and Android devices via a web browser. You can access all the medicines information and features via a mobile device, but ....
* Please note: Before using the mobile application you must register for a personal account with AusDI. You need to be connected to CSU’s network in order to register. This would most likely be by way of a desktop computer or via Wi-Fi if you are using a mobile device. Once registration is finalised, the mobile application can be accessed from anywhere with an active internet connection. For more information, see Catalyst Mobile Release Notes.
** Please also note: CSU has only 2 concurrent user licences for AusDI. You can get alternative access to Product Information (PI), and Consumer Medicine Information (CMI) at the FREE online resource, TGA Medicines.
Treatment guidelines, mainly pharmacological guidelines but also including non-pharmacological guidelines, for specific medical conditions.
eTG Complete is the online version of Therapeutic Guidelines, which are produced by Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL), an Australian not-for-profit independent organisation that prepares, publishes and distributes nationally-based prescribing guidelines. The Guidelines are endorsed by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, the National Prescribing Service, the Royal College of Nursing Australia, The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, and other peak bodies.
The guidelines cover all common disorders seen in clinical practice and aim to assist prescribers in ensuring patients have optimum treatment. According to eTG itself, “The guidelines are comprehensive in that they cover all common disorders seen in clinical practice. The information is independent and unbiased and is a distillation of current evidence and opinion ... The guidelines are not primarily meant to instruct, but rather to assist prescribers in ensuring patients receive optimum treatment ... The content of each title is revised by an expert group every 3 to 4 years. The iterative cycles are based on response to feedback, and shifts in the evidence base.”
More of this sort of information is available within eTG. See “How Therapeutic Guidelines publications are produced”.
eTG Complete also includes: Getting to know your drugs; Drug use in pregnancy and breastfeeding; Patient-Information sheets; and creatinine-clearance and ideal body-weight calculators.
This major international health and medicine database is available from Ovid in various date packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1950 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the CSU databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
An Ovid database which provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health-related literature from 1970 to the present.
Subject content includes drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice, plus legislation, regulation, technology, utilisation, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
Some articles are available in full-text, either because the article is free online or because the journal in the Journals@Ovid Full Text CSU Subscribed (aka CSU Fulltext Journals@Ovid) database. For those articles without full-text links, use the Find it - CSU link at the right of the citation to link to the full article in another database, if available.
The database is updated monthly.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts is one of many databases available in the Ovid platform. Other health-related databases in Ovid include MEDLINE in various date packages, and a range of EBM Reviews databases. Once on the Ovid search screen, you can change to another database by clicking on the Change link in the main search panel. All Ovid databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Convenient access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
MIMS Online is the web version of the MIMS prescribing information for pharmaceuticals available in Australia. It contains both abbreviated prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Bi-Monthly (a paper product), and full prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Annual (a paper product). It also contains product images, and consumer medicines information (MIMS CMI).
The database offers access to information on more than 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
MIMS Online has Simple and Advanced Search options, and also allows for browsing of the product information by Brand Name, Generic Name, or Therapeutic Class. There is also a Pill ID module, where you can search for a tablet/capsule image, and a Drug Interactions module, where you can identify drug interactions.
Free online resources on Medicines from the Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration. Aimed at health professionals. Includes a searchable database of PI and CMI documents.
The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) is part of the Australian Government Department of Health and is responsible for regulating therapeutic goods including medicines, medical devices, blood and blood products.
The Medicines webpage includes several resources on topics such as:
• medicines and TGA classifications;
• Product Information (PI) and Consumer Medicine Information (CMI);
• Australian Public Assessment Reports for prescription medicines (AusPARs);
• adverse drug reactions;
• orphan drugs;
• prescribing medicines in pregnancy.
The resource on Product Information includes a search facility where Product Information (PI), and Consumer Medicine Information (CMI) documents can be searched. CSU staff and students also have access to this information in the AusDi database, but as there are only 2 concurrent user licences to AusDI, the TGA website provides an alternative means of access to PI and CMI material.
Latest articles from the journal: The Australian Pharmacist
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.