Skip to main content

eBooks

eBook Collections - Introduction

The table below, and the following pages in this guide, provide information on some of the major eBook collections available from the CSU Library.

Information regarding subject areas, access conditions, and print, copy and/or download allowances and limits controlled by Digital Rights Management (DRM) are provided.

Digital Rights Management (DRM)

When using eBooks keep in mind that they are generally protected by Digital Rights Management (DRM). The term Digital Rights Management refers to any scheme that controls access to copyrighted material using technological means, including most eBooks.

Different publishers apply different levels of DRM restrictions which may limit the number of devices an eBook can be copied to, or impose limits on borrowing, printing, downloading and modifying. There are some collections of eBooks that are DRM free.

EBOOK PLATFORMS AT A GLANCE

The table below is a quick summary of the major vendor platforms at CSU Library. 

Collection

Subject area

Loan period

Concurrent user access

Printing/ copying/ downloading

Help

ProQuest Ebook Central

Multidisciplinary collection

1 to 7 days when downloading to read offline

Three models

 * Unlimited

 * Limited Access model (usually 325 access per year)

 * Limited user model (usually 1 or 3 concurrent user)

Printing => Restricted allowance set by publisher- check individual titles. Allowance refreshes every 24 hours

Download => Allowed, except for Limited user model (1 or 3 concurrent user)

ProQuest Ebook Central page in this Guide

OR

ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide

Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)

Multidisciplinary collection

No borrowing limit – can download individual chapters

Multiple

Print, save or download individual chapters as pdf files.

OSO Help

Science Direct

Library and information science; knowledge management;  business information; and Asian studies

No borrowing limit – can download individual chapters

Multiple

Print, save or download individual chapters as pdf files.

ScienceDirect Help

IGI Global / Info Sci-Books

Library information science, information technology and computer science

No borrowing limit – can download individual chapters

Multiple

Print, save or download individual chapters as pdf files.

IGI Global user guide

EBSCO eBooks

Multidisciplinary collection

3 hours to 7days when downloading to read offline

Three models

 * Unlimited

 * Limited Access model (usually 325 access per year)

 * Limited user model (usually 1 or 3 concurrent user)

Printing => Restricted allowance set by publisher - check individual titles

Download => Allowed, except for Limited user model (1 or 3 concurrent user)

EBSCO eBooks page in this Guide

OR

EBSCO eBooks guide

Books@Ovid

Nursing, dentistry, pharmacy and other health subjects No limit when reading online Multiple Print, save or download individual chapters as pdf files.

Books@Ovid page in this Guide

OR

Ovid - Support and Training

Wheelers eBooks

Law 60 days Most allow multiple users. Titles from Kluwer Law International & Wolters Kluwer Legal 1 copy/user only. Print, or save individual chapters to PDF. Download allowed.

Wheelers eBook page in this guide

OR

CCH Wheelers eLending Support

SpringerLink eBooks

Biomedical & life sciences; computer science; earth & environmental science; humanities; social sciences & law; and medicine No borrowing limit – can download individual chapters Multiple Print, save or download individual chapters as pdf files.

SpringerLink eBooks page in this Guide

OR

Springer help & support

Cambridge Core Multidisciplinary collection No borrowing limit – can download individual chapters Multiple Print, save or download as PDF Cambridge Core User Guide
Safari Books Online Business, IT

Please Note: Access requires you to enter a CSU email address. CSU students please use the format: 'username@student.csu.edu.au or username@postoffice.csu.edu.au'. CSU staff need to use CSU email address.

Unlimited user access Read offline with the Safari Queue mobile app for iOS & Android

Safari Books Online Guide

OR

O'Reilly Support Center

For a detailed list of CSU Library eBook collections and open access eBook collections, visit the eBook Collections webpage.