Is the journal relevant to your research audience?
- The relevance of the scope and audience of the journal.
- Is your article adding to a conversation occurring in the journal? Are you citing articles from that journal?
- Is the journal peer reviewed? Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory lists peer reviewed journals in your discipline. It is useful if your research is cross disciplinary and you are not familiar with potential journals in related areas.
- Ranked Journal Lists by Discipline.
- Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) Journal list.
- A journal quality list ranking journals in 15 sub-disciplines in business, economics and law. It is also incorporated into the Journal Quality List.
- Association of Business Schools Academic Journal Quality Guide.
- Australian Political Studies Association (APSA) Updated preferred journal rankings for the 1606 and 1605 FOR codes by APSA.
- ERIHPLUS European Reference Index for the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Core Rankings Portal Computing Research and Education Association of Australasia publications in Computer Science and Information Technology.
- The ERA ranked journal list is no longer available on the Australian Research Council website and is no longer deemed relevant or a reflection of current journal metrics.
- Using Scopus or Web of Science to find journals with highly cited articles on your topic.
- The CSU Research Outputs Collection (ROC) criteria for journals.
Peer reviewed / refereed journals.
Some research disciplines can be disadvantaged by reliance on metrics alone. When considering the quality of appropriate journals in which to publish your research include:
- Peer Review or Refereed journals, and the prestige of the editorial team or contributors.
- The relevance of the journal to the discipline. Will the article reach the desired audience?
- Journal quality or rank, often determined through use of metrics. Use SCImago Journal and Country Rank to compare journals in most disciplines.
Is the journal:
- Indexed in Scopus, Web of Science, CABI, ABI/Inform or another reputable database? Non indexed journals are less visible to the international research community.
- Included in the Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory? The Ulrichs directory will indicate the online availability of Journals in a range of scholarly databases.
- Available in full text online and can the full text content be accessed by the intended audience?
- Open Access? - see the Open Access guide.
Many journal publishers, whether subscription based or open access, impose article processing charges (APC). APC may be used to fund peer reviewed open access journals, or can be an option for authors who wish to make their article open access in an established subscription based journal. Some funding bodies, such as the ARC and NHMRC have adopted policies requiring research outputs to be freely accessible / open access. These policies only require that publications are ‘deposited into an open access institutional repository [see What is Open Access?] and/or made available in another open access format within a twelve month period from the date of publication’.
Useful tools for finding the right journal
Directories of Journal Quality
- Use the Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory to find out more about peer reviewed journals in your discipline - it includes links to publishers websites, refereed status and list of indexing services.
- The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Journals in this directory must meet criteria prior to being listed.
- The SCImago Journal and Country Rank (SJR) is publicly available and includes journal Quartile ranks developed from the Scopus database.
- Web of Science Master Journal List
- Elsevier Journal Finder
- Jane Journal/Author Name Estimator
- CWTS Journal Indicators
- Google Scholar Top Publications
- SHERPA/RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher policies on the self - archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.
- Use Think, Check, Submit. This website can help you to make an informed decision on where to publish.
These tools aren’t perfect. For example, Ulrichsweb includes some journals that publish peer reviewed + non-peer reviewed content; the DOAJ might not include all quality open access journals, and recently de-listed 900+ journals that did not meet its published Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing