CONTENTS

Getting full-text - Within a database; Using Primo Search; Using Google Scholar

Getting full-text

Most library databases comprise journals and articles, which is why CSU Library calls them Journal Databases.

These databases vary in how much full-text material they contain:

  • Some databases have no full-text content; these are usually called indexes
  • Others are entirely full-text: these are great because you know that all of your results will be full-text!
  • Many have a combination: some records which are "citation-only" (no full-text); and some records that have full-text. In some of these databases, it's not easy to tell what is full-text and what is not. Sometimes you can click on a link to the full-text, only to find that payment is required to get the full article.

Usually, if an article has full-text available, there will be a link somewhere close to the record. The database platforms and other databases and journal collections vary in how they display this link. Full-text can be available as a PDF, in HTML, or both:

Links to get full text are usually in the search results of a journal database, just below the record information like title author etc.

 

USING FIND IT AT CSU LINKS TO GET THE FULL ARTICLE

In many databases, if the record does not have the full-text attached, you can click on the Find it at CSU link to search for the full article in other databases to which CSU subscribes:

Links to Find it at CSU are usually just below the record information like title author etc. near the Full Text PDF link if there is one

 

A panel will open, indicating if the article is held or not, and if it is, you will get a link to the database(s) where it's available:

The Find it at CSU link will send you into Primo Search, to the View Online panel, with links to full text versions of your article

 

You can follow the prompts to go to the article record in the new database, with a link to the full-text.

Links to full text versions of the article will often be just near the title, or under the record information

FINDING FULL-TEXT FROM PRIMO SEARCH

Primo Search is the Library’s main search tool, and it searches across most of the online journal databases to which the Library subscribes. You can use Primo Search to find the articles, and then follow the prompts to access the full articles in databases.

When you get article results in Primo Search, it should be that the full-text is available online. You need to:

  1. click on the View Online link. This opens a panel which lists the databases where the full article is held:

Screenshot of a Sage database link in Primo

  1. click on the name of the database. You should be taken to that database, as the record for the article, with a link to the full article.

Screenshot of an abstract of a Sage article, showing the link to a Full text version of the article

 

Please note:  If you come across an article record in Primo Search where the link to full-text does not work, please contact the Library, to report this and get help in locating the full article.

 

Finding full-text from Google Scholar

In the same way that you can use Primo Search to find journal articles, you can also use Google Scholar. Again, you can use Google Scholar to find the articles, and then follow the links to access the full articles in databases.

BUT ... you should EITHER:

If you do this, your Google Scholar results list will show which articles are held by CSU Library, and there will be a Find it at CSU link to the article in the database where it is held:

Screenshot of a CSU link in Google Scholar search results

Loading

Help from a Librarian

Need help?