Your workplace

Workplaces, such as government departments, police forces and hospitals may have a library and subscribe to relevant databases.  Large companies, health related organisations and law firms may also subscribe to databases relevant to their work.

If you work for these, you may have access to databases, depending on the policies of your employer.

For example:

NSW Police Force Academy Library  provides library services to  NSW Police Force employees.

CIAP (Clinical Information Access Portal) is available to all staff working in the NSW public health system and provides access to clinical information and resources.

Professional Associations

Some professional associations provide resources for their members. Some also have a library. Enquire with professional associations that you are a member or that are within your professional area of expertise.

Professional Associations can be found listed in CSU Library Subject LibGuides. Choose the discipline your are interested in, and then click the Web Resources Tab.

For example:

The following professional associations provide their members with some degree of access to online subscriptions.

Law Society of New South Wales Library

Australian Psychological Society

Engineers Australia

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Australian Association for Research in Education

Professional alerting and abstracting services

Some professions have alerting services that notify practitioners in that field of updates to information in that field. These usually provide a summary, rather than the full text.

The examples below are all freely accessible.

For example:

SpeechBITE keeps you up to date with recent treatment research in speech pathology.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).

PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database – is a free, Australian, web-based database of evidence relevant to physiotherapy. It contains citations and abstracts of over 21,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided.