Open Access Journals

Open Access journals contain accessible articles. They may be found on the internet, in Open Access journals or in Institutional repositories.

Open Access items are usually not Public Domain. Most authors retain copyright.

Open Access is not related to an item's quality. The material may or may not  be peer reviewed.

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee library has an extensive List of Open Access databases.

PubMed

PubMed, developed by the National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the (US) National Library of Medicine (NLM), is a free database of citations to more than 16 million journal articles from over 4,600 of the world's most significant health sciences journals. These citations are to articles in journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and the life sciences.

The database consists primarily of citation-only references, but in some cases the LinkOut feature provides access to full-text articles at journal websites and in other web resources. PubMed includes links to most of the (full-text) articles in PubMed Central.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free digital full-text archive of life sciences and medical sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the (US) National Library of Medicine (NLM).

The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal. Many journals make their content available in PMC as soon as it is published. Others may delay release of content in PMC for anywhere from a few months to a few years after publication, but most provide free access to full text within a year of publication.

DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals

The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.

PLOS One

PLOS ONE is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline. It provides:

  • Open-access—freely accessible online, authors retain copyright
  • Fast publication times
  • Peer review by expert, practicing researchers
  • Post-publication tools to indicate quality and impact
  • Community-based dialogue on articles
  • Worldwide media coverage

Cochrane library

Cochrane Library is a subscription resource, but under an arrangement between the Australian Government and the Cochrane Collaboration, the resource is available free to internet users anywhere in Australia.

The Cochrane Library is the main product of the Cochrane Collaboration, which is "an international not-for-profit and independent organization, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available". Its stated role is to make available systematic reviews of healthcare interventions, while promoting the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.

AustLii

AustLII – the Australasian Legal Information Institute - is a joint facility of the UTS and the UNSW Faculties of Law. It provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, and claims to be one of the largest sources of legal materials on the net, with over 2 million searchable documents.

AustLII publishes public legal information, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals, and case law); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (for example, law reform and royal commission reports). There is also a substantial collection of law journals.

It includes extensive links to other Australasian and international legal resources on the Internet.