Australian National and State Libraries

The Australian National Library and all Australian State and Territory libraries subscribe to journal databases for the use of their registered members.

Australian National Library

The National Library of Australia subscribes to a number of databases, accessible online from outside the library, including business, literature, arts, social science, health and multidisciplinary databases. You must have a National Library of Australia library card. To be eligible for a standard library card you must live in Australia and supply an Australian residential address.

More databases are available from inside the National Library.

Northern Territory Library

The Northern Territory Library subscribes to many authoritative eResources. Some titles may only be accessed from within the Northern Territory Library due to licensing agreements.

State Library of New South Wales

The State Library of New South Wales eResources webpage says: "You can access these eresources in the Library. For NSW residents, most eresources can be accessed from anywhere, at any time, with a current library card".

Usage is governed by certain Registration and access conditions.

State Library of Queensland

The State Library of Queensland provides access to a large number of authoritative eresources: online journals, newspapers, magazines and websites.

All eresources can be accessed at State Library and most are also accessible 24/7 away from State Library with either an SLQ library card or a Queensland Public Library (QPL) account. Visit the membership page to register.

State Library of South Australia

The State Library provides home access to a number of full text eResources on a wide range of subjects including business, health and family history. Home access means that registered users can access these eResources from outside the Library. This service is available to South Australian residents for home or personal use only.

State Library of Tasmania

At LINC Tasmania, you can access Online information resources. Some of these can be accessed only from within the library buildings, but many can be accessed from home, if you are a library member.

State Library of Victoria

Victorian State Library members enjoy free online access to an extensive range of journals, databases, ebooks and other eresources.

Register online and receive free access.

State Library of Western Australia

Western Australian residents who are members of their state library can access State Library of Western Australia eResources, which include online journals, magazines, e-Books, or current and historical newspapers.

To access these eresources you must:

  • be a Western Australian resident
  • be a registered member of the State Library
  • read the eresources conditions of use.

National Libraries around the world

If you are not in Australia, you may be able to use electronic resources in a National Library or equivalent in the country you are living in.

For example, the British Library provides Electronic Resources for researchers.