Free academic resources

Even though you are not enrolled at a university, there may be some university library electronic resources that you have access to:

Walk-in access

 

Registered CSU alumni members (graduates of CSU and its predecessor institutions, and former staff) and registered community users can access print collections, and selected journal databases within CSU Library buildings only.

For information about joining CSU Library, see the Alumni & Community pages on our website.

Database available for use on campus are listed at:

Alumni

In academia, "alumni" are former students of an educational institution.

Again, database licences will restrict what can be offered.

However some databases vendors offer a database package specifically for alumni - such as the EBSCOhost Academic Search Alumni database.

CSU Alumni

Registered CSU Alumni members (graduates of CSU and its predecessor institutions, and former staff) can access print collections and selected journal databases.

To register, or find further information see the CSU Alumni Benefit Program.

Institutional repositories

Many universities and research institutions now have an Institutional Repository. These usually give open access to that institutions research output.

They can usually be searched through the institution's catalogue/ search engine, or directly in the repository.

CRO

CRO (CSU Research Output) is the CSU Institutional Repository and is an open access digital archive. CRO includes CSU scholarship and research output of various types, including refereed journal articles, conference papers, books, chapters, and creative works. The aim of CRO is to collect and make available to the world the research output produced by CSU. The Repository is the source of submissions for the annual HERDC collection, the CSU Creative Works register, and ERA.

CRO can be searched via Primo Search, or from within CRO

Other universities

  • Access the website of a university that you are interested in, and search within the website for their institutional repository.
  • Search Google for:

"institutional repository" university

Limit your search to sites from Australia, if that suits your topic.