Introduction

CSU no longer has access to the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database used to find journal impact factors, but there are a number of sources of information that are either derived from, or similar to JCR, including:

  • Web of Science [JCR] category and quartile rank
  • Scimago Journal and Country Rank (SJR)

Researchers seeking journal rankings can also use other services such as the Journal Analyzer in Scopus and the Google Scholar Metrics tool, and the Australian Business Deans Council's journal quality list.

Journal impact factors for individual journals may also be available from publishers’ websites.

For assistance on accessing any of these resources, please contact a Faculty Liaison Librarian.


The Library still subscribes to the Web of Science Core Collection (WoS) and Scopus citation databases.

Category and Quartile Rank of a Journal in JCR

The Web of Science database can be used to find the category and quartile impact factor rank of a specific journal.

To begin, access WoS through the CSU Library's databases page, or via this link:

http://ezproxy.csu.edu.au/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/

In WoS, change the search criteria from 'Topic' to 'Publication Name' (you can also search for a particular article if you prefer):

WoS search box

Type the name of your journal into the search box and select 'Search'.

From the search results select the hyperlinked journal title:

Results box

This will bring up a dialog box with further information about the journal, including the list of categories within JCR and a quartile scope for each category:

Category and quartile box

Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics site lists the top 100 journals and top journals in different subject categories ranked by journal h-index.

Google Scholar Metrics for Dentistry category

 

Further details:

Google Scholar Metrics Overview

Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) Journal Quality List

The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC)  publishes the ABDC Journal Quality List

 

ABDC logo

 

The Council created the  ABDC Journal Quality List for use by its member business schools. The List was created to overcome the regional and discipline bias of international lists and is maintained by an independent chair and discipline-specific panels.

Scimago Journal and Country Rank (SJR)

Use the Scimago Journal and Country Rank (SJR) database, to compare and rank journals using Scopus citation data.

Access the SJR database from:  http://www.scimagojr.com/

Conduct a search for your journal using the search tool:

SJR search box

If there are multiple results for your search, select the one that corresponds to your journal / category.

SJR publishes a range of metrics including an h-index (the number of articles n, that have that number of citations, n), and a quartile chart for each category based on its SJR score:

Quartiles box

In this example the journal only appears in one category and has been in the top quartile each year, therefore the chart only has one set of boxes and they are all green (green=top quartile, yellow=second quartile, orange=third quartile, red=last quartile).

Various other Scopus derived metrics are displayed below the quartile results.  In addition, you can get more information on a particular category by selecting any of the hyperlinks to that category.  The data lists the top journals in the category by whichever column you select at the top (the default is SJR score).

category data box

Scopus Journal Analyzer

The Journal Analyzer in Scopus compares up to 10 journals indexed by the Scopus database with respect to SJR and SNIP metrics.

Scopus Journal Analyzer showing selected Ecology journals

SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)

Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP)

Developed by Professor Henk Moed at CTWS, University of Leiden, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) 'measures contextual citation impact by weighting citations based on the total number of citations in a subject field. The impact of a single citation is given higher value in subject areas where citations are less likely, and vice versa.'

'It is defined as the ratio of a journal's citation count per paper and the citation potential in its subject field. It aims to allow direct comparison of sources in different subject fields. Citation potential is shown to vary not only between journal subject categories – groupings of journals sharing a research field – or disciplines (e.g., journals in Mathematics, Engineering and Social Sciences tend to have lower values than titles in Life Sciences), but also between journals within the same subject category. For instance, basic journals tend to show higher citation potentials than applied or clinical journals, and journals covering emerging topics higher than periodicals in classical subjects or more general journals.'

SNIP uses data from the Scopus database.

Further details:

Moed, H. F. (2010). Measuring contextual citation impact of scientific journals. Journal of Informetrics, 4(3), 265-277. doi: 10.1016/j.joi.2010.01.002